College of Arts and Sciences Advising Team

Welcome to the College of Arts and Sciences Academic Advising!

If you are an incoming first-year student, please visit the New Student Checklist. If you have addidtional questions, please email fyadvising@american.edu. We look forward to having you on campus soon!


Laura Nitzberg will be on leave for the summer. To see who will be assisting you, please see below:
African American and African Diaspora (Ryan Cassidy), American Studies (Ryan Cassidy), Arab World Studies (Ryan Cassidy), Asian Studies (Ryan Cassidy), History (Tyler Atkins-Mose), Jewish Studies (Ryan Cassidy), Literature (Valerie Rauenzahn), Philosophy (Brittany Proudfoot Ginder), Religion (Brittany Proudfoot Ginder), Women’s Gender & Sexuality Studies (Ryan Cassidy)


To meet with Ryan Cassidy, please go to Gray Hall 101.


To schedule an appointment with Dr. Arneson for Premedical Advising, click here .

Tyler Atkins-Mose

email: atkins@american.edu

Temporarily advising Computer Science, Physics
*Advising for History while Laura Nitzberg is on leave.

Darian Mitchell

email: darian@american.edu

Biology, Chemistry/Biochemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Neuroscience, Psychology (students whose last name begins with T-Z)

Laura Nitzberg

On leave for the summer. To find out who will be assisting, please see below.

African American and African Diaspora (Ryan Cassidy), American Studies (Ryan Cassidy), Arab World Studies (Ryan Cassidy), Asian Studies (Ryan Cassidy), History (Tyler Atkins-Mose), Jewish Studies (Ryan Cassidy), Literature (Valerie Rauenzahn), Philosophy (Brittany Proudfoot Ginder), Religion (Brittany Proudfoot Ginder), Women’s Gender & Sexuality Studies (Ryan Cassidy)

Brittany Proudfoot Ginder

email: brittany@american.edu

Anthropology, Economics, Sociology

*Advising for Philosophy and Religion while Laura Nitzberg is on leave.

Josh Keilholtz

email: joshk@american.edu

Will be available for advising starting July 1!

Computer Science, Mathematics, Mathematics and Economics, Physics, Psychology (A-S), Statistics

Emily Jones-Green

email: jones@american.edu

Temporarily advising Mathematics, Mathematics and Economics, Psychology (last names A-S), Statistics

Ryan Cassidy

email: cassidy@american.edu

For appointments please go directly to Gray Hall room 101.
World Language and Cultures Program Advisor

*Advising for African American and African Diaspora, American Studies, Arab World Studies, Asian Studies, Jewish Studies, Women’s Gender & Sexuality Studies while Laura Nitzberg is on leave.

Benjamin Berg

email: bberg@american.edu

Art History, Audio, Technology/Production, Dance, Education, Graphic Design, Music, Musical Theatre, Studio Art, Theatre, Undecided Students

Valerie Rauenzahn

email: valerier@american.edu

Health Promotion, Literature, Public Health
*Advising all Literature majors while Laura Nitzberg is on leave.