College of Arts and Sciences Advising Team

Welcome to the College of Arts and Sciences Academic Advising!

If you are an incoming first-year student, please visit the New Student Checklist. If you have addidtional questions, please email fyadvising@american.edu. We look forward to having you on campus soon!


We are sad to announce that Laura Nitzberg will be moving back to Australia and not returning for the fall.
To find out who will be assisting, please see below:
African American and African Diaspora (Emily Jones-Green), American Studies (Emily Jones-Green), Arab World Studies (Emily Jones-Green), Asian Studies (Emily Jones-Green), History (Tyler Atkins-Mose), Jewish Studies (Emily Jones-Green), Literature (Valerie Rauenzahn), Philosophy (Brittany Proudfoot Ginder), Religion (Brittany Proudfoot Ginder), Women’s Gender & Sexuality Studies (Emily Jones-Green)


To meet with Ryan Cassidy, please go to Gray Hall 101.


To schedule an appointment with Dr. Arneson for Premedical Advising, click here .

Josh Keilholtz

email: joshk@american.edu

Computer Science, Mathematics, Mathematics and Economics, Physics, Psychology (A-S), Statistics

Emily Jones-Green

email: jones@american.edu[jones@american.edu]

Assisting with African American and African Diaspora Studies, American Studies, Arab World Studies, Asian Studies, Jewish Studies, and Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies until we hire a new advisor.

Valerie Rauenzahn

email: valerier@american.edu

Health Promotion, Literature, Public Health

Tyler Atkins-Mose

email: atkins@american.edu

Temporarily advising for History while we search a new advisor.

Brittany Proudfoot Ginder

email: brittany@american.edu

Anthropology, Economics, Sociology

*Advising for Philosophy and Religion while we search for a new advisor.

Darian Mitchell

email: darian@american.edu

Biology, Chemistry/Biochemistry, Environmental Science/Studies, Neuroscience, Psychology (students whose last name begins with T-Z)

Ryan Cassidy

email: cassidy@american.edu

For appointments please go directly to Gray Hall room 101.
World Language and Cultures Program Advisor

Benjamin Berg

email: bberg@american.edu

Art History, Audio, Technology/Production, Dance, Education, Graphic Design, Music, Musical Theatre, Studio Art, Theatre, Undecided Students